Our boards

Meet the people behind MATTER.

Board of Directors

Our board of directors includes senior leaders from across the healthcare industry who are dedicated to fostering collaboration and innovation to spark meaningful change.

Jeffrey S. Aronin

Chair of the MATTER Board, Chairman and CEO, Paragon Biosciences

Laura Ferris Anderson

Managing Director, Head of Multi-National Sales, Merchant Services U.S. Division, JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Andrew Cittadine

Chief Operating Officer, Monopar Therapeutics

Steven Collens


Joel Farran

Executive and Organizational Advisor

Steven A. Gould, MD

Founder & Principal, The Gould Consulting Group

Steve Hamman

Healthcare Executive

Jeffrey D. Kent, MD, FACG, FACP

Chief Medical Officer, Sling Therapeutics

Stephen N. Keith

Medical Director, Syneos Health

James L. Madara, MD

CEO & Executive Vice President, American Medical Association

David Mao, PhD

Head of Corporate Strategy and Planning, HCSC

Suzet McKinney, DrPH

Principal, Director of Sterling Bay Life Sciences

Peter McNerney

Adjunct Professor of Finance, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

David Ormesher

Founder, closerlook Inc.

Ellen A. Rudnick

Sr. Advisor on Entrepreneurship and Adjunct Professor, University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Edrice L. Simmons

VP of Oncology Solid Tumors, Abbvie

Jim Sullivan

Co-founder and CEO, Vanqua

Nancy Sullivan

CEO & Managing Director, IllinoisVENTURES

Karen C. Teitelbaum

Former CEO, Sinai Chicago | Board Member | Senior Advisor

Phil Tennant

Senior Vice President, Head of U.S. Oncology Business Unit, Astellas Pharma

Glen Tullman

Chief Executive Officer, Transcarent

Eric Whitaker

Chairman, TWG Partners, LLC

Advisory Board

Comprised of leaders from across the healthcare industry, our Advisory Board guides MATTER’s engagement strategy to ensure we provide opportunities for our industry partners to build innovation capacity and connect with our entrepreneurial community.

Holly Copeland

Senior Director of Corporate Social Responsibility, Sustainability & Impact, Horizon Therapeutics

Marco De Polo

Global Head Acceleration, Insights & Open Innovation, Roche

Thomas Kawalec

Executive Partner, Accenture Life Sciences Practice

Christopher Leggett

Lead, Global Commercial Innovation, Genmab

Nadine Lindley

Executive Director, Business Operations, Lundbeck Pharmaceuticals

Joseph Maliekal

Commercial Innovation Director, AbbVie

Francisco M. Rausa

Director, Digital Health & Innovation, AbbVie

Robert Samuel

Executive Director, Enterprise Technology Architecture and Innovation, CVS Health

Michael Senical

Executive Director, U.S. Strategy and Innovation, Astellas

Jolynn Suko

Senior Vice President and Chief Innovation Officer, Parkview Health

Michael Tutty

Group Vice President, Professional Satisfaction and Practice Sustainability, American Medical Association

Nicole Lynn Walker

Vice President, Customer Experience, Health Care Service Corporation

Jim Welch

Global Medtech Leader and Health Science and Wellness Leader for the Americas Central Region, EY

James Wieselman-Schulman

Global Design Lead, International Innovation, Evernorth

Health Systems Advisory Board

Comprised of leaders within the healthcare delivery space, our Health Systems Advisory Board helps guide MATTER’s engagement strategy to ensure we are providing opportunities for our health system partners to engage with entrepreneurs.

Craig Anderson

Director of Innovation, BayCare

Daniel Derman

Chief Innovation Executive, Northwestern Medicine

Charlotte Gabet

Director of Innovation and Advanced Simulation Lab, Parkview Health

Jason Keeler

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, University of Chicago Medical Center

Karl Kochendorfer

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs, Chief Health Information Officer & Associate Chief Medical Officer, UI Health

Marcelo Malakooti

Associate Chief Medical Officer of Hospital Operations and Medical Innovation and Medical Director of Lefkofsky Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, Lurie Children's Hospital

Kristen Murtos

Chief Innovation & Transformation Officer, NorthShore – Edward-Elmhurst Health

Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Board

Charles DeShazer, MD

Director, Clinical Products, Google

Javier Evelyn

CEO and Founder, Alerje

Cristal Gary

Chief Advocacy Officer, AMITA Health

Derek J. Robinson, MD

VP and Chief Medical Officer, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois

Charles Smith

CEO and Founder, CS Insurance Strategies

Nicole Walker

Managing Partner, Arboretum Ventures